SUNSHINE

Cynthia, remember when you first introduced me to this video?

I remember everything. Sunflowers are your favorite flower. Green is your favorite color. You love the cold and hate the heat. You hate wearing dresses. You hated them since the day you were born. You want to go to Alaska and run the Iditarod. You want to go to Madagascar and work with animals. You want to attend a college in Europe for a year. You are interested in Veterinary services because you want to help the animals.

You are considering being a combat medic and then studying medicine to become a Brain Surgeon. You love cats. You especially like the big kind, like the black panther at the Douglas Zoo named Ninja. He’s probably passed on by now.

You like little dogs but only for a short period of time. Big dogs are more your style because they can go and do things you go and do.

Who you are at the core of your being never changes. It may get lost or buried, but it always stays the same. You have a heart. You are not cold. I know you like to play tough and push people away before you start to care about them. It is easier that way than having your heart broken, but that is not living. If you are not feeling, then you are not living. You want to be happy, but you can never be happy if you never allow yourself to feel. I hope that you are doing well in school. I would like very much to attend your graduation. I am curious to know if you have yet decided on the Navy or a different course.  Are you going to prom?  Do you need a dress?  Let me know and I will make it happen.  I always have and I always will.  You wanted Washington DC and I gave you Washington DC.  You wanted California and I gave you California.  I remember your prom dress last year.  I remember when you picked it out and sent me the photo.  It was over your budget but when I saw you in that dress, I had to get it.  You were so excited and thankful.  You were the most beautiful young lady at the prom.

You don’t think I hear you or pay attention, but I do. I remember everything you tell me. How else would I know that you have a big heart?  I remember the boy that no one liked.  You took him under your wing and transformed him and helped him gain friends.  He wasn’t the only one, either.  A heartless soul would never have done that.  I know you don’t like to be touched and I completely understand that. I do not blame you one bit. I would like so very much to hug you and hold you and comfort you so you could get it all out. It is OK to cry sometimes. It is OK to not be OK and to say you are not OK. I don’t expect you to be perfect. I expect you to be you. You are perfectly imperfect and I love every single imperfection.  They are what make you, you, and you are so much more than you allow yourself to believe.  Believe in yourself.  Love yourself.  I believe in you.  I love you.

With all of my heart and nothing but unconditional love,

Mom.

Categories: Adventure, Life, Parenthood | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

